Family Tradition


It’s New Year’s Day! Time to ride!

Helen and bill ride their TT-R s in the back yard

Daughter and father enjoy excellent New Years Day riding weather

In our family, we try our hardest to get at least a short ride in on New Year’s Day. Today, it was easy – temps in the mid 40’s, only spoiled by wind over 20 mph. Helen, and Henry, and I started off the celebrations by riding around the back yard on our off-road equipment – I on my TT-R 230, Helen on her TT-R 50e, and Henry on his Kawasaki branded Fisher Price PowerWheels KFX quad.

After a half hour of circulating the back yard, we all had lunch. Then Helen and I rode the Kawasaki Z1000 over to her cousins’ house to wish them happy new year. Road speeds and the wind proved more uncomfortable than our suburban trail ride in the back yard. But that’s all part of the New Year’s tradition – ride the ride, even if it’s a little uncomfortable.


3 Comments on “Family Tradition”

  1. Rob says:

    Fun! These are certainly memories that will last a lifetime. My 11-yr-old got his first bike for Christmas and he did his first laps of the back yard yesterday, and I know he’ll never forget it. We might have to make that a New Years Eve tradition. πŸ™‚

  2. andy1076 says:

    Everyone got their chance with a bike huh? nice πŸ™‚ i think my 10 year old daughter would love this lol πŸ˜€


Leave a comment